If you are ready to create an objective, but want it to be visible to only a select few people or maybe only you and your manager, you can create a "private" objective. Examples of when you might want an objective to be visible to only specific people is if the objective is a self-development objective or a personal objective. There are definitely advantages to creating public objectives, but we do understand that visibility is not a one size fits all thing. A few things to remember when creating an objective, specifically a private one.
- Private does not mean only you can view the objective. Your immediate manager will always have access to view your objectives, even if you make them private.
- When it comes to learning objectives, specific and challenging goals have a negative effect on performance. Instead, we recommend people set short-term and general “do your best” goals for learning objectives.
- To foster intrinsic motivation in all employees, there should be a convergence of desires where business and personal needs align.
If you aren't able to create a private objective, please contact one of your account administrators, who may need to adjust the settings.
For steps on how to bulk import objectives, see this article.
Create a private objective
1. Click on Objectives from the left navigation.
2. You will land on the 'All objectives' page.
3. Click on the Create a new objective button.
4. Name your objective.
5. Choose who the owner of the objective should be. The people included in this drop-down menu will vary based on your company's permissions for Objectives.
6. Decide who the objective is for: A person, A group, The whole company
7. Select the type of objective you are trying to create based on who the objective is for.
8. If aligned objectives is enabled for your company, you will see the option to align this objective with a parent objective.
If aligned, decide whether you want the objective to impact the progress of the parent objective or not.
9. If Objectives tags are enabled for your company, you will see the option to add a tag or tags to your objective. If you are unsure what to tag your objective, it is best to leave the tags blank and either allow an account administrator to add the tag for you OR add in the tag by editing at a later date.
10. Create key results to measure your objective. Key results can be measured in percentage, dollar, number, or completed/not completed.
If your company has the Jira integration enabled, you can link your key result(s) to Jira issues using the 'Link to' option at the bottom right of your key result field. For more information, see this article.
For additional currency values, click ..., Other currency, and use the drop-down to choose the currency that applies.
Make sure to give your key results a title or else your objective will not save.
11. Add in the objective's start and end dates. If aligned and impacting progress, the dates must be the same as or fall within the parent objective's dates.
12. You may see a question titled "Who can update and edit this objective?" This option, if enabled, allows you to add groups or people as editors for the objective. Adding people in this section will allow the selected people and/or groups to edit, manage, update, and delete your objective.
If you are allowing people to update and edit this objective, they will be automatically added as viewers of the objective, even if 15Five permissions or Specific people is selected. Use cases for this option: team objectives being worked on by a group, objectives being worked on cross collaterally, objectives managed by two teammates.
Objectives that you have been given access to edit will not appear on your Check-in. You will not receive a notification that you have been added as an editor. The objectives you are able to edit will need to be accessed through the 'All objectives' page. The same goes for giving access to other people/groups.
13. Under "What is the objective privacy setting?", select Specific-people and add anyone you would like to have visibility into this objective.
Private objectives are not private to only you. The objective will be visible to the objective owner (likely you), the objective owner's reviewer (likely your manager), and any other groups or individuals that are specified in the "Who can see this objective?" field.
14. Finish your objective by clicking the Create objective button.
Success Center article 🗒: Manage your objectives