Merge or combine groups

If you have two groups that need to be combined into one, we have a way for you to merge the groups. It takes a couple of steps, but the end result is clean and organized. Before you get started, there are some things to know about merging. 

✏️

Note

If you use SCIM to manage groups, please see the applicable article with instructions on managing group types and groups.


What happens when I merge groups?

Here's an example: I am moving the 'Sales' group from the 'Teams' group type to the 'Departments' group type, but there is already a 'Sales' group in 'Departments'... 

  • Questions will be combined- meaning all questions from both 'Sales' groups will remain. If one group had questions and one didn't, the one set of questions will carry over.
  • Members will be combined- meaning all members from both 'Sales' groups will remain. If one group had no members, then only the members of the other group will exist after the merge.
  • Any group settings that are the same are retained for both groups- meaning if both 'Sales' groups had company-wide questions OFF, the new group will also have company-wide questions OFF.
  • Any group settings that are different between the two groups are discarded and the new combined group’s settings are reverted to the system’s default settings- If one group has 'Priorities' ON and on group has 'Priorities' OFF. In this case, 'Priorities' would be ON for the combined group, since it is on by default when creating a group. 
    • Default group settings: Screen_Shot_2021-04-14_at_9.44.21_AM.png
  • If both 'Sales' groups have the same group administrator, that group administrator is retained.
  • If one of the groups has a group administrator but the other one does not, we maintain the preexisting group administrator for the combined group- 'Sales' group in Departments does not have a group administrator, and Joann is the group administrator for the 'Sales' group in Teams, then Joann will remain the group administrator for the merged group.
  • If both groups have a group administrator, then both group administrators will be removed as group administrator and the group administrator designation will be blank- Joe is the group administrator for the 'Sales' group in Departments and Joann is the group administrator for the 'Sales' group in Teams, then there will be no group administrator for the merged group.
    • Having no group administrator means that any account administrator, the group's creator, or the reviewer (if all group members are in their hierarchy) can edit the group.

Merge two groups of the same name

💡

Tip

If you need to merge two groups with different names, just rename one of the two the groups to have the same name as the other. Once the groups have the same name, you will be able to combine them.

1. Click on the Settings menu at the upper right corner of your 15Five account and then click People.

Screen_Shot_2021-04-13_at_4.33.02_PM.png

2. Once on the 'People' page, click on the 'Manage groups' tab.

Screen_Shot_2021-04-14_at_9.27.38_AM.png

✏️

Note

If you need to rename one of the two groups, do that first. Find the group by searching or by clicking into the group type that houses the group and edit the name. Once renamed, return to the 'Manage groups' page.

3. Find the group type that houses the group you want to merge and click into it. If you want to merge 'Sales' Team with 'Sales' Department, click into the group type 'Teams'.

Screen_Shot_2021-04-26_at_10.50.11_AM.png

4. Find the group that you want to merge and check the box to the left of the name.

Screen_Shot_2021-04-26_at_10.50.24_AM.png

5. Use the Actions drop down menu to select Change group type.

Screen_Shot_2021-04-26_at_10.50.30_AM.png

6. Find the group type where you would like this group to move to—this is the group type that houses the group of the same name, in this case the group type that houses the other 'Sales' group.

Screen_Shot_2021-04-26_at_10.50.38_AM.png

7. Click Change group type

Screen_Shot_2021-04-26_at_10.45.57_AM.png

8. A pop-up window will appear asking you to confirm your changes. Be sure to read the "What happens when I merge groups?" section at the top of this article.

Screen_Shot_2021-04-26_at_10.50.48_AM.png

9. If all is well, click Continue changing.

Screen_Shot_2021-04-26_at_10.50.58_AM.png

10. You will be taken to the merged group containing all members of both groups and the settings for the merged group. Give them a look before saving.

Screen_Shot_2021-04-26_at_10.55.04_AM.png

11. Remember to save your changes! 

Screen_Shot_2021-04-26_at_10.55.15_AM.png

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful