They are various visibility settings for our Objectives feature and for the objectives themselves. You have three choices of visibility: Public, 15Five permissions, and Specific people. Each setting is outlined below with steps on how to edit those settings.
Access and availability
⛔️ Required access to Objectives.
👥 This article is relevant to all roles.
📦 This feature is available in the Focus and Total Platform pricing packages.
Privacy settings for objectives
These options will appear when creating or editing an objective, assuming your company has all three options enabled in the Objectives feature settings.
- Public: This objective will be visible to everyone in your company.
- 15Five permissions: This objective will be visible to anyone who can see your Check-ins, including global viewers. To find out who can view your Check-ins, you can use this link.
- Specific people: This objective will be visible to the objective owner’s reviewer, and any other groups and/or individuals that are specified, but are not visible to global viewers unless they are added as one of the specific people.
If your objective is aligned with and set to impact the progress of a public objective, your objective will also have to be public. If the objective is aligned but doesn't impact progress, the visibility settings can be different.
If an account administrator changes the company's Objective permissions from allowing private objectives to allow public objectives only, private objectives that had already been created will retain their original visibility setting. The opposite is also true, moving from public to private.
Why is 15Five's default visibility so open? Read How Radical Transparency Sparks Excellence for the research behind our decision.
Editing permissions for objectives
While creating an objective, you may (depending on your company's settings) see the question, "Who can update and edit this objective?"
This option, if enabled, allows you to add groups or people as additional editors for the objective. Adding people in this section will allow the selected people and/or groups to edit, manage, update, and delete your objective. Use cases for this option: team objectives, objectives being worked on cross-collaboratively, objectives managed by two teammates.
Organization of objectives
When looking in the 'All objectives' tab, objectives will appear in the following manner:
- By alignment (if it has children/is a parent objective)
- By scope (company-wide, department, individual, then self-development)
- By end date/due date
- By username alphabetically
- By description alphabetically