They are various visibility settings for objectives. You have three choices of visibility: Public, 15Five permissions, and Specific people. Each setting is outlined below.
What is the objective privacy setting?
Public: This objective will be visible to everyone in your company.
15Five permissions: This objective will be visible to anyone who can see your 15Five reports, including global viewers. To find out who can view your 15Fives, you can use this link.
Specific people: This objective will be visible to the objective owner’s reviewer, and any other groups and/or individuals that is specified, but are not visible to global viewers unless they are added as one of the specific people.
If an account admin changes the company's Objective permissions from allowing private objectives to allow public objectives only, private objectives that had already been created will retain their original visibility setting. The reverse is also true, moving from public to private.
Why is 15Five's default visibility so open? Read How Radical Transparency Sparks Excellence for the research behind our decision.
Who can update and edit this objective?
While creating an objective, you may (depending on your company's settings) see the question 'Who can update and edit this objective?'.
This option, if enabled, allows you to add groups or people as editors for the objective. Adding people in this section will allow the selected people and/or groups to edit, manage, update, and delete your objective. Use cases for this option: team objectives, objectives being worked on cross collaterally, objectives managed by two teammates.
When looking in the 'All objectives' tab, objectives will appear in the following manner:
- By alignment (if it has children/is a parent objective)
- By scope (company-wide, department, individual, then self development)
- By end date/due date
- By username alphabetically
- By description alphabetically