Assuming you aren't a review administrator, the visibility settings for a review cycle aren't readily accessible/referenced from your view. This article discusses the visibility options available to review administrators when they set up a review cycle. If you're ever unsure why you or another person cannot see a certain review, visibility settings are a good guess as to why. Keep reading to learn more about the various visibility options for Best-Self Review®.
For a specific list of who can see your review, go to the specific review in question. Find the 'Review details' box on the left. Under the Transparency header, visibility settings will be noted.
Success Center article 🗒: When do reviews become visible to others?
Visibility settings for reviews
This organizational setting determines who will be able to see submitted reviews and summaries. Reviews become visible upon submission.
- Hierarchy visibility:
- Submitted reviews can be viewed by the participant, their manager, anyone above their manager, and review administrators. This is the same default hierarchy visibility that exists for Check-ins.
- Basic visibility:
- Submitted reviews can be viewed by the participant, their manager, and review administrators. This visibility only allows the immediate manager and review administrators to view the reviews and not anyone in the middle of the participant's hierarchy.
Peer review transparency
Select how participants see their peer review answers and peer identities.
We recommend making peer reviews visible to participants. Consider training employees to give better feedback instead of restricting peer review answers or identities. See this piece for tips.
Shared vs hidden are bulk settings and will apply to all peer reviews in the cycle. You cannot have some peer reviews shared and some hidden.
- Participants will see all peer answers verbatim.
- Participants can see a summary of peer review answers written by their manager.
Everyone, reviews are fully transparent to participants:
Identities of peers will be shown regarding peer reviews—meaning participants can see who wrote what about them.
Everyone except for the participant:
Peers' identities will be transparent to review administrators, the participant's manager, and the participant's hierarchy (if applicable), but NOT the participant.
No one, reviews are fully anonymous to everyone who can see the review:
Peers' identities will be hidden from everyone. No exceptions, even review administrators and managers.
Review administrators cannot see the identities of their own peer reviews if the settings are partially or fully anonymous; ie review administrators will not be able to see who wrote what for their own peer reviews because of their role as review administrator.
Upward review transparency
- Managers will see all upward review answers verbatim. Though all upward review answers will be shown verbatim, you can manage the direct report identity setting below.
- Managers can see a summary of their upward reviews from their manager, but will not see upward answers verbatim.
- Everyone, reviews are fully transparent to managers:
- Identities of direct reports will be shown regarding upward reviews—meaning managers can see who wrote what about them.
- Everyone except for manager:
- Direct reports' identities will be transparent to review administrators and the manager's hierarchy (if applicable), but the manager will not see the direct report's identity.
- No one, reviews are fully anonymous to everyone who can see the review:
- Direct reports' identities will be hidden from everyone. No exceptions, even review administrators.
Release peer and upward feedback
This setting allows managers and/or review administrators to control what peer and upward answers are released; in the case that an answer is inappropriate or not constructive.
- All answers will be shared and no answers can be removed
- Allow review administrators to remove answers from a review before results are shared
- Allow review administrators and managers to remove answers from a review before the results are shared