Hide peer and/or upward reviews from participants

This article walks through how to set up review cycles to hide all verbatim feedback given by peers (in peer reviews) and/or direct reports (in upward reviews) from review cycle participants. Hiding peer and upward reviews can be helpful if your company doesn't want to hold fully-transparent review cycles. If you use this setting, managers should summarize the peer's and/or direct report's feedback before sharing and finalizing results with the review cycle participant.

Hiding peer and/or upward reviews is a global setting— meaning if the setting is enabled, it will apply to all participants in all review cycles. We also offer the option to remove peer and/or upward feedback one-off (if that better suits your needs).

✏️

Note

These are company-wide settings that will be applied to all review cycles whose start dates fall after the change is made. Changes made to these settings after a cycle has started will not retroactively apply. If you'd like to edit review settings for an active review cycle, please see this article.


Hide peer and/or upward reviews from participants

1. Click on the 'Settings' gear in the top right-hand corner of 15Five.
Settings.png

2. Select 'Features' from the dropdown menu.
Features.png

3. Scroll down to the 'Best-Self Review®' section and click to open.
FeaturesBestSelfReview.png

4. Find the settings titled 'Peer review transparency' and 'Upward review transparency' and expand the sections using the arrow icon.
PeerUpwardTransparency.png

5. Select the Hidden option for one or both of the above settings, depending on whether you want both peer and upward reviews to be hidden. Save your changes.
TransparencySettings.png

✏️

Note

You'll also see a section titles "Who can see peer/direct report's identities" in transparency settings. Keep in mind that peer and direct report identity will technically always be anonymous to participants if you select Hidden in step 5, because verbatim feedback will never appear for the review cycle participant.


What's next?

You set up your company-wide Best-Self Review® to hide peer and/or upward feedback from cycle participants— now what? This section of the article walks through what these changes mean for managers, cycle collaborators, and review cycle participants.

Peers and/or direct reports will complete their reviews. They will see a note at the bottom of any reviews that will be hidden based on transparency settings letting them know that their feedback will not be shared verbatim with the review cycle participant.
HiddenFeedbackNotification.png

When viewing peer or upward reviews that are hidden from the review cycle participant, managers will see a note informing them that reviews will not be shared with the review cycle participant, and that they should write and share a summary so participants can still get value from peer/upward feedback.
ManagerTip.png

Once all reviews are submitted about a review cycle participant, their manager will complete the review summary. Remember— participants will only have insight into peer and upward reviews via the summary notes.
SummaryExample.png

Once the summary is completed, the manager or a cycle collaborator will share results with the participant.

When looking at their review summary after results are shared but before results are finalized, the participant will only see self and manager answers. They will not see any summaries— these should be discussed with the participant by their manager during the final meeting, and then the manager should edit them as desired before they finalize review results. If the participant clicks on the 'Peer' or 'Upward' tabs, they will see a message alerting them that review answers are hidden.
ReviewsHidden.png
Once the review is finalized, the participant will see summary information for peer and upward feedback.
SummaryExampleParticipantView.png

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful