Hide peer and/or upward reviews in entirety from participants

Hiding peer and upward reviews is best suited for companies who aren’t quite ready to hold a fully transparent review cycle due to lack of effective feedback training, lack of psychological safety in feedback, or regulatory reasons preventing direct feedback from being shared with participants. If this is the setting you plan on using, it is strongly recommended that managers summarize the peer's and/or direct report's feedback in their summary notes. 

Hiding peer and/or upward reviews is a global, bulk setting, meaning if the setting is enabled, it will apply to all participants in the review cycle. We also have an option that allows peer and/or upward feedback to be removed in a one-off fashion. If that better suits your needs, check out this article.

Hide peer and/or upward reviews from being shared

1. Click on 'Settings' from the left navigation.

Screen_Shot_2020-11-16_at_2.23.56_PM.png

2. Click on 'Features'.

Screen_Shot_2020-11-16_at_2.24.12_PM.png

3. Click on 'Best-Self Review®'.

Screen_Shot_2020-12-11_at_6.30.20_AM.png

✏️

Note

Changes can be made to these settings up until the start date of your Best-Self Review cycle. However, changes made to these settings after a cycle has started will not retroactively apply. If you'd like to edit review settings for an active review cycle, please see this article.

4. Find the settings titled 'Peer review transparency' and 'Upward review transparency' and expand the sections using the arrow icon.

Screen_Shot_2021-03-12_at_11.44.44_AM.png

5. Select the Hidden option for one or both of the above settings, depending on whether you want both peer and upward reviews to be hidden. 

Screen_Shot_2021-03-12_at_11.46.09_AM.png

 

6. Select who can see the peer's or direct report's identity.

Peer and direct report identity will technically always be anonymous to participants if you select Hidden in step 5, because the verbatim feedback will never appear. 

7. Save your settings.

Screen_Shot_2021-03-12_at_11.47.03_AM.png

8. Create and hold your review cycle.

9. As peer and upward reviews are submitted, they will appear for managers and review administrators. It is important to remember that the participant will not see these reviews, now or after sharing. Below is a screenshot from the manager's view—the reviews appear in full with a note to the manager regarding visibility. 

Screen_Shot_2021-03-16_at_10.03.45_AM.png

✏️

Note

Managers need to include peer and upward feedback in their summary notes to ensure that the feedback contributes to the development conversation. This is an important part of the review process when any reviews are hidden from the participant.

11. Next step, managers will share the results and the summary with the participant. Participants will only have insight into peer and upward reviews via the summary notes. Below is a screenshot from the manager's view as they are viewing and completing the Summary.

ADD SCREENSHOT HERE

12. The participant will see the summary information only. If the participant clicks on the 'Peer' or 'Upward' tabs, they will see the below message. Again, the below screenshot is from the participant's view

Screen_Shot_2021-03-12_at_12.09.14_PM.png

13. That's it. The peer and/or upward reviews will never be visible to the participant—only through the summary will they get insight. Review administrators and managers will always be available to view the reviews. The below screenshot is from a review administrator's perspective when they are viewing the participant's reviews. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful