We know that some of the information you include in your Check-in may be sensitive. That said, it's important you know exactly who has access to view your Check-ins.
In this article, you will learn:
How to see who on your team can view your Check-ins...
Possible reasons why someone can see your Check-ins, including:
- They're above you in the hierarchy, often referred to as drill-down
- You're both in a group that has group drill-down or group viewing enabled
- They follow your Check-ins—they're a follower
- The person is a global viewer
Regardless of who can see your Check-ins, you can always leave a private comment if you'd like something to remain private between you and another person.
Who can see my Check-ins?
See a full list in your settings
- Click on the settings gear in the top, right-hand corner of your 15Five account.
- Select 'My settings' from the dropdown menu.
- Click to open the 'Check-in visibility' tab at the top of the page.
- You're now on the "Who can see my Check-ins?" page. Here you'll see a list of who can view your Check-ins based on hierarchy drill-down, group, and followers permissions under the 'Who can see my Check-ins?' tab.
Access a list from your current Check-in
- Open your current Check-in using the Check-ins tab in 15Five's main left-hand navigation.
- In the 'Reviewer' box, hover over Who can view my Check-in? to see a quick list of who has permission to view your Check-in. Or, click the link to open the more detailed "Who can view my Check-in?" page in your account settings.
Possible reasons a person can see your Check-ins
They're above you in the reporting hierarchy
Leaders at the top of your company's reporting hierarchy can see the Check-ins of their direct reports, anyone who reports to their direct reports, anyone who reports to their direct reports, and so on. Hierarchy drill-down is the default setting for all accounts and cannot be disabled.
If the person who can see your Check-in is your manager's manager, or their manager, they have permission to view your Check-ins by hierarchy view.
They have visibility through group permissions
It's possible that a person can see your Check-ins because you're both in a group that has group view and/or group drill-down enabled.
The group view option gives all group members full transparency into all other group members' Check-ins.
The group drill-down option creates a forced drill-down relationship between group members who would not naturally have the ability to view each other's Check-ins.
If desired, an account or group admin can manage these group permission options by opening the group page and editing group settings.
They "follow" your Check-ins
If you've accepted a follow request from another person, they have the ability to view and interact with your Check-ins. Followers can comment on, like, and pass up answers.
To check whether or not you have any followers, check your "Followers" page (in-app link). You can remove a follower from the "Followers" page (in-app link) by clicking Remove follower next to their name.
They're a Global Viewer
Global Viewers are people with special access that allows them to view the Check-ins of everyone in your organization. This permission is typically for HR teams, leadership, and/or administrators. You can check whether your company has any Global Viewers on the "Global Viewers" page (in-app link). Learn how to make someone a Global Viewer.
Global Viewers cannot see private objectives, private comments, or any other item marked as private.