You know who can see your 15Fives, but you're not sure why they can see them. You've come to the right place!
There are several reasons why a co-worker may have access to view your 15Fives, including:
- They're above you in reviewer drill-down
- You're both in a group that has group drill-down or group viewing enabled
- They follow your 15Fives
- The user is a global viewer
Continue reading below for a deeper dive into each of these four scenarios. If you're still not sure why someone can see your 15Fives, please contact our Support Team.
1. They're above you in reviewer drill-down
Reviewers at the top of your company's reporting hierarchy are able to view their direct reports' 15Fives, and anyone who reports to their direct reports, and anyone who reports to those direct reports, and so on. Hierarchy drill-down is the default setting for all accounts and cannot be disabled.
If the person who can see your 15Five is your manager's manager, or their manager (and so on), they have permission to view your 15Five by reviewer drill-down.
In the example below, Sophia can see David's 15Fives because she is David's manager's manager's manager (that's a mouthful!).
Success Center article 🗒: Default visibility for 15Five
2. You're both in a group that has group drill-down and/or group viewing enabled
The group drill-down option in groups creates a forced drill-down relationship between users who would not naturally have this relationship, opening up transparency into group members' 15Fives.
The group view option gives all members in a group full transparency into all other group members' 15Fives.
How to turn off group drill-down/view (account admins or group admins only):
1. Click on 'Settings' from the left navigation.
2. Then click on 'People' to expand the people settings.
3. Last, click on 'Manage groups'.
4. Click on the name of the group you want to edit.
5. Open the group settings by clicking on the gear icon and selecting 'Edit group'.
6. Scroll down to the Settings section and toggle Group View and/or Group drill-down to "off".
7. Save your changes.
3. They "follow" your 15Fives
If you've accepted a follow request from another person, they have access to view and interact with your 15Fives. Followers can comment, like, and pass up answers. To check whether or not you have any followers, visit this page.
How to remove a user as a follower:
1. Click on 'Settings' from your left navigation.
2. Click 'My account' to expand the drop-down menu.
3. Click on 'Permissions'.
4. On this page, you can see who can see your 15Five by clicking on the 'Followers' tab.
5. Click on the 'Remove Follower' button next to the person you want to remove.
Success Center article 🗒: Request to follow someone else's 15Fives
4. The user is a "global viewer"
Global viewers are people who can see the 15Fives of everyone in a company. This permission is typically for HR teams, co-Leaders, and administrators. You can check whether your company has any global viewers on this page.
Global viewers cannot see 1-on-1s, private objectives, private comments, or any other item marked as private.
Success Center article 🗒: Role-based permissions in 15Five