Why can people see my Check-ins?

You know who can see your Check-ins, but you're not sure why they can see them. What do each of these options mean? This is important information when it comes to who can see your Check-ins. Hang tight—you've come to the right place!

There are several reasons why another person may have access to view your Check-ins, including:

  1. They're above you in the hierarchy, often referred to as drill-down.
  2. You're both in a group that has group drill-down or group viewing enabled.
  3. They follow your Check-ins—they're a follower.
  4. The person is a global viewer.

Continue reading below for a deeper dive into each of these four scenarios. If you're still not sure why someone can see your Check-ins, please contact our Support Team.  

__________________________________________________________________________

1. They're above you in the hierarchy.

Managers at the top of your company's reporting hierarchy are able to view their direct reports' Check-ins, and anyone who reports to their direct reports, and anyone who reports to those direct reports, and so on. Hierarchy drill-down is the default setting for all accounts and cannot be disabled. 

If the person who can see your Check-in is your manager's manager, or their manager (and so on), they have permission to view your Check-ins by hierarchy view/reviewer drill-down.

In the example below, Sophia can see Hector's Check-ins because she is Hector's manager's manager's manager. That's a mouthful!

Screen_Shot_2021-04-14_at_2.13.55_PM.png

Success Center article 🗒: Default visibility for Check-ins 

__________________________________________________________________________

2. You're both in a group that has group drill-down and/or group viewing enabled.

The group drill-down option in groups creates a forced drill-down relationship between group members who would not naturally have the ability to view each other's Check-ins.

The group view option gives all group members full transparency into all other group members' Check-ins.

How to turn off group drill-down/view 

Only account administrators and the group administrator can update group settings. 

1. Click on the Settings menu at the upper right corner of your 15Five account and then click People.

Screen_Shot_2021-04-13_at_4.33.02_PM.png

2. Once on the 'People' page, click on the 'Manage groups' tab.

Screen_Shot_2021-04-14_at_9.27.38_AM.png

3. Once on the 'Manage groups' page, find and click on the name of the group you want to edit. Even better, search for the name of the group you're looking to edit settings for. 

Screen_Shot_2021-04-14_at_2.17.45_PM.png

4. Open the group settings by clicking on the gear icon and selecting Edit group. 

Screen_Shot_2021-04-14_at_2.19.04_PM.png

5. Scroll down to the Settings section and toggle Group View and/or Group drill-down off.

Screen_Shot_2021-04-14_at_2.19.15_PM.png

6. Save your changes.

Screen_Shot_2021-04-14_at_2.19.50_PM.png

__________________________________________________________________________

3. They "follow" your Check-ins—they're a follower. 

If you've accepted a follow request from another person, they have access to view and interact with your Check-ins. Followers can comment, like, and pass up answers. To check whether or not you have any followers, visit this page.

How to remove someone as a follower:

1. Click on the Settings menu at the top right of your 15Five account and then click My settings

Screen_Shot_2021-04-14_at_1.42.33_PM.png

2. Click on the 'Check-in visibility' tab.

Screen_Shot_2021-04-14_at_1.49.15_PM.png 

3. Click in the 'Followers' box in order to display all followers. 

Screen_Shot_2021-04-14_at_2.26.04_PM.png

4. Click the Remove Follower button next to the follower you want to remove.

Screen_Shot_2021-04-14_at_2.25.12_PM.png

Success Center article 🗒: Request to follow someone else's 15Fives 

__________________________________________________________________________ 

4. The person is a global viewer.

Global viewers are people with special access that allows them to view the Check-ins of everyone in the company. This permission is typically for HR teams, Leadership, and/or administrators. You can check whether your company has any global viewers via this page.

✏️

Note

Global viewers cannot see 1-on-1s, private objectives, private comments, or any other item marked as private.

Success Center article 🗒: Role-based permissions in 15Five

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful