It's time to change a person's manager in 15Five...but what does that mean in terms of visibility for the past and new manager?
In this article, you will learn how changing a person's manager impacts visibility for past and new managers in the following features:
Check-in visibility for past and new managers
Past managers continue to have visibility into all Check-ins that were submitted while they were the direct manager (i.e. that they were responsible for reviewing). Moving forward, past direct managers won't be able to see new Check-ins unless they have visibility through other venues (drill-down, group viewing, follower, global viewer, etc). Private comments will remain private to whoever the direct manager was when the private comment was made. Private High Fives are never visible to direct managers, new or old.
New managers can automatically see all past Check-ins for their new direct reports. If visibility into past Check-ins should be restricted to the previous manager, reach out to 15Five's Support Team for help. This rollover visibility does not include private comments made to the past manager. Private High Fives are never visible to direct managers, new or old.
1-on-1s visibility for past and new managers
Past managers can see all 1-on-1s that were conducted while they were the direct manager. Once the direct manager is changed, all automatic 1-on-1s will be held with the new direct manager. Going forward, past direct managers will not be able to see new 1-on-1 agendas. 1-on-1s are private to the two 1-on-1 participants.
New managers will be responsible for all 1-on-1 agendas created after the manager switch. New direct managers will have no visibility into past 1-on-1 agendas, unless the direct report or past direct manager shares copies through email or PDF. Again, 1-on-1s are private to the two 1-on-1 participants.
For more information on using the 1-on-1 agenda, check out our "Use the 1-on-1 agenda" Help Center article.
Objectives visibility for past and new managers
Past managers will maintain visibility into private objectives that were created by their previous direct reports. To clarify, if a direct report creates a private objective, their current direct manager has visibility into the private objective by default. When the direct manager is changed, that past direct manager still has visibility into the private objective, unless the direct report (objective owner) edits the visibility settings of the objective. The direct report (objective owner) can remove their past direct manager's visibility into the objective.
New managers will be given visibility into their new direct report's private objectives automatically. The direct report (objective owner) will not be able to remove this visibility from their new direct manager. By default, the current direct manager will always have access to view their direct report's private objectives.
For more information on creating private objectives, see "Create a private objective" Help Center article.
Best-Self Review® visibility for past and new managers
A person's direct manager in 15Five is, by default, appointed as their manager in review cycles. If you'd prefer for someone besides a person's direct manager to serve as their manager in a review cycle, you can set that up by following the steps in our "Change manager review author" Help Center article.
Past managers can see results of all reviews that were conducted while they were the manager.
New managers can see results of all reviews they serve as a manager in. By default, new managers don't have visibility into review cycles that occurred before they were made the manager. That said, it's possible to give new direct managers automatic visibility into the past reviews of their direct report(s) in your company Best-Self Review® settings. Please note that this is a blanket setting— meaning that turning it on would allow all managers in your organization to see the past reviews of their direct report(s).
If you'd like to give additional people read-only visibility into a person's review results, you can add them as a review viewer. A person can be appointed as a cycle-specific review viewer, which grants them visibility into a person's review results for only a specific review cycle, or a global review viewer, which gives them visibility into all review results for a person.
Please see our "Add a review viewer for a participant" Help Center article for more information about both of these options.
For more information on changing a manager during a review cycle, refer to our "Change manager review author for a review cycle participant" Help Center article.
Request Feedback visibility for past and new managers
When an individual requests feedback from their peers using the "Request Feedback" feature, they have the option to share feedback results with their direct manager during the setup process. If they choose not to do so initially, but decide they want to share feedback with their manager at a later date, they can do so by following the steps in the "Share feedback with my manager after the fact" section of our "Manage my received feedback" Help center article.
But let's say that a person's direct manager changes after they already shared Request Feedback results with their former manager. What happens then?
Regardless of whether the new direct report selected the option to share feedback with their manager automatically or shared the Request Feedback results manually later, their new direct manager will not have access to the Request Feedback results by default. However, the direct report can share results with their new manager manually by following the steps in the "Share feedback with my manager after the fact" section of our "Manage my received feedback" Help center article.
Career Hub visibility for past and new managers
Past managers will no longer have any visibility into their former direct report's Career Hub upon a managerial change within 15Five.
New managers will have visibility into their new direct report's Career Hub immediately upon the managerial change within 15Five. If their new direct report had shared their Career Hub results with their previous manager, the new manager will see all shared information immediately. If results were not shared prior to the manager change, new managers will see a limited version of both the ‘Role Clarity’ tab and ‘Career Vision’ tab until the direct report shares the results. Updates your direct report makes to the 'Strengths' tab will be visible to you immediately. The direct report can still edit their responses post-share, and you will be informed that there’s been an update.
For more information on Career Hub permissions and visibility as a manager, refer to our "Career Hub for managers" Help center article.