How do reviewer changes impact visibility?

It's time to change a person's reviewer in 15Five...but what does that mean in terms of visibility for the past and new reviewer? This article walks through how changing a person's reviewer impacts visibility across 15Five features for both the new and past reviewers.


Reviewer changes and Check-in visibility

Past reviewers continue to have visibility into all Check-ins that were submitted while they were the reviewer (i.e. that they were responsible for reviewing). Moving forward, past reviewers won't be able to see new Check-ins unless they have visibility through other venues (drill-down, group viewing, follower, global viewer, etc). Private comments will remain private to whoever the reviewer was when the private comment was made. Private High Fives are never visible to reviewers, new or old. 

New reviewers can automatically see all past Check-ins for their new direct reports. If visibility into past Check-ins should be restricted to the previous reviewer, reach out to 15Five's Support Team for help. This rollover visibility does not include private comments made to the past reviewer. Private High Fives are never visible to reviewers, new or old. 


Reviewer changes and 1-on-1 visibility

Past reviewers can see all 1-on-1s that were conducted while they were the reviewer. Once the reviewer is changed, all automatic 1-on-1s will be held with the new reviewer. Going forward, past reviewers will not be able to see new 1-on-1 agendas. 1-on-1s are private to the two 1-on-1 participants.

New reviewers will be responsible for all 1-on-1 agendas created after the reviewer switch. New reviewers will have no visibility into past 1-on-1 agendas, unless the direct report or past reviewer shares copies through email or PDF. Again, 1-on-1s are private to the two 1-on-1 participants.

For more information on using the 1-on-1 agenda, check out our "Use the 1-on-1 agenda" Help Center article.


Reviewer changes and Objectives visibility

Past reviewers will maintain visibility into private objectives that were created by their previous direct reports. To clarify, if a direct report creates a private objective, their current reviewer has visibility into the private objective by default. When the reviewer is changed, that past reviewer still has visibility into the private objective, unless the direct report (objective owner) edits the visibility settings of the objective. The direct report (objective owner) can remove their past reviewer's visibility into the objective.

New reviewers will be given visibility into their new direct report's private objectives automatically. The direct report (objective owner) will not be able to remove this visibility from their new reviewer. By default, the current reviewer will always have access to view their direct report's private objectives. 

For more information on creating private objectives, see "Create a private objective" Help Center article


Reviewer changes and Best-Self Review® visibility

A person's reviewer in 15Five is, by default, appointed as their manager in review cycles. If you'd prefer for someone besides a person's reviewer to serve as their manager in a review cycle, you can set that up by following the steps in our "Change manager review author" Help Center article.

Past managers can see all reviews that were conducted while they were the manager.

New managers have visibility into all current review cycle results for the participant(s) they manage. As of September 2021, it's possible to give new reviewers automatically visibility into the past reviews of their direct report(s) in your company Best-Self Review® settings by following the steps in the 'Visibility setting' section of our "Manage company review settings" Help Center article. Please note that this is a blanket setting— meaning that turning it on would allow all reviewers in your organization to see the past reviews of their direct report(s).

If you'd like to give specific managers read-only visibility into their direct reports' reviews, you can add that manager as an additional manager. There are two options for additional managers:

  1. To give an individual read-only access to all current, past, and future review cycle results for a person, you can add them as an additional manager in the individual's profile settings. 
  2. In addition, review admins can appoint multiple cycle-specific additional managers for an individual in any review cycle to give them visibility into that person's review results.

Please see our "Add an additional manager for a participant" Help Center article for more information about both of these options.

For more information on changing a manager during a review cycle, refer to our "Change manager review author for a review cycle participant" Help Center article.


Reviewer changes and Request Feedback visibility

When an individual requests feedback from their peers using the "Request Feedback" feature, they have the option to share feedback results with their manager during the setup process. If they choose not to do so initially, but decide they want to share feedback with their manager at a later date, they can do so by following the steps in the "Share feedback with my manager after the fact" section of our "Manage my received feedback" Help center article.

But let's say that a person's reviewer changes after they already shared Request Feedback results with their former manager. What happens then?

Regardless of whether the new direct report selected the option to share feedback with their manager automatically or shared the Request Feedback results manually later, their new reviewer will not have access to the Request Feedback results by default. However, the direct report can share results with their new manager manually by following the steps in the "Share feedback with my manager after the fact" section of our "Manage my received feedback" Help center article.


Reviewer changes and Career Hub visibility

Past managers will no longer have any visibility into their former direct report's Career Hub upon a managerial change within 15Five.

New managers will have visibility into their new direct report's Career Hub immediately upon the managerial change within 15Five. If their new direct report had shared their Career Hub results with their previous manager, the new manager will see all shared information immediately. If results were not shared prior to the manager change, new managers will see a limited version of both the ‘Role Clarity’ tab and ‘Career Vision’ tab until the direct report shares the results. Updates your direct report makes to the 'Strengths' tab will be visible to you immediately. The direct report can still edit their responses post-share, and you will be informed that there’s been an update. 

For more information on Career Hub permissions and visibility as a manager, refer to our "Career Hub for managers" Help center article.

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 2 found this helpful